Author Topic: Quilting Projects  (Read 17759 times)

Offline duh

• Elite Member
  • Gentle Gypsy
Re: Quilting Projects
« Reply #50 on: Sep 29, 2012, 10:45:47 PM »
Well it's kind of a dark spot but I'll do what I can. 

Offline duh

• Elite Member
  • Gentle Gypsy
« Reply #51 on: Nov 15, 2012, 08:08:03 AM »
I've been practicing free motion quilting but it's been going slowly.  I'm not good at this kind of futzing.  I need a goal.  And it came to me just the other day.  I can use my practice sample to make bookmarks and then I can learn how to bind the edges too.  I've never done a binding edge and it doesn't make sense to me so I didn't want to attempt it on something big.

So now I have outlines for several butterflies on tracing paper I just have to figure out how to make them into quilting templates.  Few overlaps and not having to pick up the needle and move it alot for different parts of the pattern.

At this rate I should manage to do the window quilt within a decade.  Lord i am slow.

Carol is such a friend.  I was in her store the other day to pick up a pencil that draws on fabric and then can be ironed away.  And she had a beginning quilter in there with her.  The beginner asked me if I quilted and I couldn't think of an answer.  Carol saved me and told her I was but that I specialized in wallhangings.  It's so nice to have people that will rescue me when I haven't a clue what to say. 

Oh have I told you about the next planned quilt?  It is a window quilt for the bedroom.  It will be a central panel of a column of butterflies.  Some parts of the butterflies will be hand embrodiered.  Around the central panel will be 10" x 10" blocks with different floral patterns in the blue green color scheme.  And around that will be a 2 1/2" border again in a shade of blue/green or possibly brown. 

Offline bayou girl

• Elite Member
  • Shadow Spirit
    • My Blog
« Reply #52 on: Nov 15, 2012, 11:55:28 AM »
that sounds really pretty