Author Topic: Windows 10?  (Read 3116 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jim

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3,981
  • What have I gotten myself into?
    • KT4JK Amateur Radio Web Page
Re: Windows 10?
« Reply #25 on: Feb 23, 2016, 08:36:26 AM »
Keep in mind too, that there will come a time when security updates and the like stop happening.  Once that happens it will be time to upgrade.

Windows 10 runs fine on my desktop.  Of course I have 6GB of memory.  On a machine with lesser memory it could be an issue.
Former SMF Support Specialist

Offline bayou girl

  • Elite Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21,705
  • Shadow Spirit
    • My Blog
Re: Windows 10?
« Reply #26 on: Feb 23, 2016, 09:59:43 PM »
i'm on a laptop, and i seem to think i have 4 gig. so i think that is the difference.  since a laptop has a lifespan (generally) of about 4-6 years, and this one is 3 or 4 years old, i'm guessing that by the time they quit issuing security patches and updates, i'll be due for a new machine anyway.
My friends here are some of the kindest on earth :kissies:

Offline bestofour

  • Elite Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10,858
  • Wild Child
Re: Windows 10?
« Reply #27 on: Feb 24, 2016, 12:21:39 AM »
I've heard there's eventually going to be a monthly or yearly fee for add on's like Word and such.

Offline Jim

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3,981
  • What have I gotten myself into?
    • KT4JK Amateur Radio Web Page
Re: Windows 10?
« Reply #28 on: Feb 24, 2016, 07:58:12 AM »
Our machines at work use Windows 7 Professional and there are no nag buttons or messages there.  I guess it's only set to do that with the standard Windows 7 Home Edition.
Former SMF Support Specialist

Offline sunsoaker

  • Elite Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18,762
  • Sunny Sylph
Re: Windows 10?
« Reply #29 on: Feb 24, 2016, 07:17:56 PM »
If the machine is not compatible with Wiindows 10 it will not download the original install file. Mine isn't compatible and never downloaded it so I don't have to worry about it on this one. Chris & Chip have both been nagged and have finally installed it.
Dear Lord, On this day, please wrap your arm around my shoulder and keep your hand over my mouth.  Amen

Offline Jim

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3,981
  • What have I gotten myself into?
    • KT4JK Amateur Radio Web Page
Re: Windows 10?
« Reply #30 on: Feb 25, 2016, 08:13:25 AM »
My work laptop is fully capable of running Windows 10, however the version of windows you are currently running is a factor on whether you are getting nagged.
Former SMF Support Specialist

Offline sunsoaker

  • Elite Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18,762
  • Sunny Sylph
Re: Windows 10?
« Reply #31 on: Feb 25, 2016, 10:54:17 PM »
I have Windows 7 home edition. Same as Krystal. She got nagged.
Dear Lord, On this day, please wrap your arm around my shoulder and keep your hand over my mouth.  Amen

Offline sunsoaker

  • Elite Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18,762
  • Sunny Sylph
Re: Windows 10?
« Reply #32 on: Feb 25, 2016, 10:58:37 PM »
By the way Jim, what would you recommend for a replacement for my laptop? It doesn't have to be a laptop, but would like at least 17" with quad core, 6+M Ram and 750+ hard drive for under $500. I've been looking...hard to find other than refurbished. I won't do a refurb Dell. I know the older ones has a fan problem. My last one I had to have fixed once a year for 3 yrs before I gave up and bought this one.

This one is dual core 4m ram and 500m hard drive, but only 15'6 screen and dispay drivers fixing to go out. my understanding is Dell has improved immensly since then. Oh I'd love 1080P but haven't found one.
« Last Edit: Feb 25, 2016, 11:00:13 PM by sunsoaker »
Dear Lord, On this day, please wrap your arm around my shoulder and keep your hand over my mouth.  Amen

Offline Jim

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3,981
  • What have I gotten myself into?
    • KT4JK Amateur Radio Web Page
Re: Windows 10?
« Reply #33 on: Feb 26, 2016, 12:30:47 AM »
Going to be tough to find anything with those specs under $500.  About the closest I have seen is at BestBuy.  An Asus K751MADS21TQ that sells for $599.  Here is a link:

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/asus-17-3-touch-screen-laptop-intel-pentium-8gb-memory-1tb-hard-drive-black/8094237.p?id=1219688708775&skuId=8094237

Tiger Direct has one that is just like this for $566 but of course it is out of stock.  BestBuy does have a price match guarantee but not sure they would honor it when TD is out of stock.
« Last Edit: Feb 29, 2016, 03:07:54 PM by Jim »
Former SMF Support Specialist

Offline sunsoaker

  • Elite Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18,762
  • Sunny Sylph
Re: Windows 10?
« Reply #34 on: Feb 26, 2016, 06:30:42 AM »
Thanks. The one I have is dual core w/4m ram and is sluggish at times with Windows 7. I could imagine how sluggish it would be with windows 10 on it. Which is why I was looking for something better. If I'm gonna have to replace this (display drivers going bad), may as well get a better one.
Dear Lord, On this day, please wrap your arm around my shoulder and keep your hand over my mouth.  Amen

Offline bestofour

  • Elite Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10,858
  • Wild Child
Re: Windows 10?
« Reply #35 on: Aug 31, 2016, 11:11:41 AM »
I have a windows 10 question. I can't figure out how to share a picture to this forum. When I right click the picture I don't get a url anymore.

Offline Jim

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3,981
  • What have I gotten myself into?
    • KT4JK Amateur Radio Web Page
Re: Windows 10?
« Reply #36 on: Aug 31, 2016, 12:33:55 PM »
I have a windows 10 question. I can't figure out how to share a picture to this forum. When I right click the picture I don't get a url anymore.

Not sure that's anything to do with Windows 10.  Most times you would need to upload the photo to a 3rd party site like Photobucket and then share it from there.
Former SMF Support Specialist

Offline bestofour

  • Elite Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10,858
  • Wild Child
Re: Windows 10?
« Reply #37 on: Aug 31, 2016, 08:20:10 PM »
I worded that all wrong.  I always loaded my pictures to picturetrail by way of Ifranview and now can't get them to go to Ifranview.  When I open Ifranview and click open, go to the picture which I can see, click on it I get a message that says "no item matches your search."  The picture is there because I'm looking at it.  This was working until recently when things were updated.