Author Topic: Browsing the Recipe Books  (Read 2596 times)

Offline duh

• Elite Member
  • Gentle Gypsy
Browsing the Recipe Books
« on: Sep 05, 2010, 10:29:17 AM »
Our library is making a cook book with recipes contributed by local people.  I love the idea.  I bought the one they made last year and this year I'm contributing 16 recipes.  I told them to contact me if they needed more recipes.  I've been collecting them since about 2006 and it's amazing how many I've gotten in that short amount of time. 

Of course while I was looking through what I had I came upon some favorites that I haven't had in a while.  So tonight I'm having the wilted romaine and bacon salad.  So yum! 

I've kind of forgotten about salads since I'm been on strike about the price of tomatoes.  So it will be nice to have a fresh salad. 

Do you have an old favorites that you haven't made in awhile?

Offline Wrennie

• Will O Wisp
Re: Browsing the Recipe Books
« Reply #1 on: Sep 05, 2010, 11:45:18 AM »
My mom used to make a casserole with chicken water chestnuts broccoli and I dont know what else in it that I loved. I have no idea of the recipe and haven't found one that sounds familiar. {sigh} Some day I'll stumble across it!

Look, I know the supernatural is something that isn't supposed to happen, but it does happen...RZ

Offline Tina

• Elite Member
  • Naughty Nymph
« Reply #2 on: Sep 05, 2010, 12:10:30 PM »
Like this, Wrennie?
Ingredients:

4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
      2 cups uncooked Minute Rice
      2 (10-ounce) packages chopped broccoli
      1 (10 3/4-ounce) can condensed cream of chicken soup
      1 small onion, chopped
      1 (15-ounce) jar Cheez Whiz
      Butter to grease the dish
      1 (5-ounce) can sliced water chestnuts, drained

Instructions: