Author Topic: broken wings - healing the spirit within  (Read 2644 times)

Offline fallen

• Resident Physicist
broken wings - healing the spirit within
« on: Feb 06, 2009, 06:10:25 AM »
We al have had broken wings - where our spirit has been bruised and battered, when we feel that we have crashed, painfully, to Earth.

So what is to be done, when you are lying there, hurt, on the ground - unable to fly as your wings have been broken.  You may not realise it, but you are at a crossroads - with an important decision to make.

Either way, asyour wings are broken, you are going to have to walk this path that so many before have, and after will tread.  Make a decision and make it quick...

The decisions are simply to start the long road to recovery or to continue in the dark lonely existence.

When you walk on the path to recovery, know this - you are not ever alone.

As a teacher, I see so many 'broken wings' - teenagers who have either started to or have gone much of the way in giving up on life - that is another reason I chose not to remain 'fallen' - because maybe, just maybe I can walk with them out of the darkness...at least until their wings have healed and they can fly again.
You can't miss me, I am the tall, cuddly giant with a maniacial physicist look on his face

Offline barleychown

• Elite Member
  • live and let live Mischievous Minx
    • My blog
Re: broken wings - healing the spirit within
« Reply #1 on: Feb 06, 2009, 10:57:27 AM »
I think every human on earth goes through this. Sometimes it's from a situation beyond our control, sometimes it's from the choices we have made. Whatever the reason, it hurts. Sometimes it's a major set-back, sometimes it's but a bump in the road.

You are very correct when you say it's a decision that you, and you alone, have to make. No one can force you to rise up out of the puddle of self-pity and begin walking again. You must make the choice yourself, and sometimes that choice must be made over and over and over again.